This is our guide to Bootstrapping your business in 2023. |

Mar 14, 2023

There are many possible ways to conduct business. There is no single way that is right. If you are one of the business owners who can develop a business that is successful, more power to you whatever way you do it.

However, there's another method for creating a company that's gained a lot of attention: bootstrapping. We at Mighty We love to bootstrap as we've seen founders begin with only a handful of passionate members and grow into flourishing, profitable businesses that earn between 5 and 6 figures each month.


The process of bootstrapping offers numerous advantages and can be a fantastic route to profitability. In this article, we're going to guide you through bootstrapping. It will be discussed in detail about the advantages and disadvantages of this method, and talk through the basics you should know to get started with starting your own business with bootstrapping.


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What exactly is bootstrapping your business?


Bootstrapping is the practice of building a business to profitability without taking outside funds. Today, in the startup market, it's common for entrepreneurs to receive rounds of capital from venture capitalists as well as investors.


Bootstrappers do not take any outside funds, and usually focus on keeping their overhead low and generating revenue fast in order to not need to take this kind of money.


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Advantages of bootstrapping a business


 

  • Ownership. When you take the outside capital, or venture capital, you give up ownership. This is an option in certain circumstances, in order for instance, to start a business from in the beginning, especially when your business requires money. But the more people there are at your table, the more people you must answer to. If you have a viable enterprise that you can bootstrap typically, you are able to retain all ownership.    
  • Control. We sort of just talked about it. However, bootstrapping allows you to the ability to control. You are able to take decisions that are not subject to external influences.    
  • Profitability. Bootstrapping is about creating a product that is profitable as quickly as possible. It is an excellent way to build a business. If it fails, it fails fast. Some founders can take huge amounts of capital from investors. They can go for years before realizing a company isn't working.    


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Bootstrapping has its disadvantages.


 

  • Less capital. Obviously, if you don't have outside investors, you might not have a ton of capital to get things off the ground. Many founders resort to debt, which has its own place, however you're responsible for the debt.    
  • There is less wisdom. The ideal approach to taking money from investors isn't just the act of giving up the control. You get the voice of experience at the table as well as advice and relationships. It can be extremely beneficial. This is why founders are on Dragon's Den (well... that and the TV exposure ).    
  • Tighter timelines. Again, you need to bring your business to profitability as quickly as possible. You could be working another job to put the roof on your head while you build your own business.    


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Examples of bootstrapping in businesses


These are some of the companies you experience every day that likely didn't know that were boot-strapped!


 

  • Apple: Founded by the Steves, Jobs and Wozniak, Apple started in Steve Jobs's garage in 1976 with a mission to bring personal computers to the masses.      
  • Meta: Facebook had to be bootstrapped before it filed for IPO on January 1, 2012 - looking for $5 billion.    
  • Atlassian The company was founded with Australia by two founders with a $10,000 credit card.    
  • KFC: Harland Sanders started frying chicken for his roadside café with a secret receipt of 11 herbs and spices. It was then that he started franchising (and dressed like an old colonel ).    
  • Plenty of Fish : An online dating website that was launched as a free app from Markus Frind and sold to Match for $575 million.      


Examples of Bootstrapping on Mighty


 

  • Yoga with Adriene : Started as a YouTube Channel by Adriene Mishler, the movement was able to grow to over 10 million subscribers and spun into two lucrative Yoga applications and a user base that has 220,000 subscribers.      
  • Wealth Builders Community : It was founded by Ashley Fox, the movement gives financial advice to 99% of those Wall Street won't talk to It made more than $100,000 within the initial two weeks.      
  • Code Red : A $10 million health and weight loss venture launched in the name of Cristy "Code Red" Nickel.      


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The guide to the process of establishing your business


1. Focus on an Ideal Client


The best place for bootstrapping likely to begin is by creating an Ideal Client or avatar (similar to the concept of the Ideal Member when beginning the concept of a community). This is true especially in the creation economy.


It is usually boiled in the form of:


 

  • Who would be your ideal client?        
  • What problem do they have?        
  • What can your product or service address the problem for them?        


It's a little dated now, but for creators, it's difficult to top the idea Kevin Kelly wrote about in his memoir, "1000 true fans. "


Instead of selling millions of products, you should focus on those thousand true people. Create a successful business around those fans. It's an excellent guideline for a creator-based, B2C service.


But whether you're reaching 1000 or millions of users it is essential to have a good idea of who they are before your product or service could be of value.


2. The revenue from day one


One of the most important factors to be successful in bootstrapping will have to be fast income. That doesn't have to be true in every single case however the longer you take to achieve revenue, the longer time you'll be working as an author.


Think about ways to get to revenue fast. We've observed one thing work really well in different courses and community businesses is pre-selling. Pre-selling can get you to profits before even constructing an item, and could be the best way to verify a product.


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MVP


While watching sports like baseball or football, MVP means something very distinct.


In the realm of business, MVP stands for a minimum viable product. It's not difficult to become a perfectionist, focusing on making sure everything's perfect before you release something to the public. Entrepreneurs and founders can take forever to get everything right.


Enter... a minimum viable product.


The term was coined by Eric Reis, who developed the lean startup methods. A minimum viable product is the simplest product that you can ship. Instead of worrying about ensuring everything is perfect make a simple product to begin earning revenue.


In bootstrapped enterprises, minimal feasible products are an important part of getting to revenue. In bootstrapping, there's no chance of creating everything flawlessly. Get some income and adapt and learn when you're ready.


4. One great funnel


There are a lot of various ways of selling items. Established companies may create multi-tiered funnels to attract buyers through advertisements such as organic search or social media or word of mouth and others.


When you're trying to bootstrap, it's better to concentrate on just one funnel. Choose one aspect that works.


For example, let's say you discover that advertising for your webinar on Facebook does great. This will bring you leads that are qualified.


If you need to invest $200 on advertisements to gain 40 qualified leads. If you assume that 24 percent of them will make a purchase. That's pretty average conversion rate.


This means that one or two people will purchase. Let's say that there are two. If you invest $200 for two customers, the cost of acquisition per client is therefore $100.


 

  • Cost per lead (200/40 = $5 per lead)        
  • Cost per acquisition ($200/2 = $100 per customer)        


You must earn 100 cents in profit from these two clients in order to make it break-even.


The creation of a funnel for sales is a tried and true method of building a successful company, and if you can get the numbers right it can become extremely profitable. For instance, let's suppose that the funnel above resulted in people signing up for a monthly subscription at $50. The typical customer stays with the company for 12 months. The typical lifetime value of a customer is $600.


It cost you $200 to get these two clients, who are worth $1,200 to your company.


Is that worth it?


If you are selling an online course with super low overhead, this would be an obvious choice. If you have a business focused on products, with costs like personnel, transportation or inventory., you have to analyze the math and see whether these figures are reasonable.


However, the best benefit of funnels that are well-designed is that it's relatively steady. It takes time to develop your baseline numbers. However, eventually, you will be pretty sure that if you spend $1,000 into your advertising then you'll make $6,000 of that.


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5. Low overhead


This leads us to the next key to great bootstrapping Low overhead.


Imagine you're opening the restaurant. It's a nightmare to get it up and running. The equipment you'll need and inventory, place, permits, and probably employees. There are hundreds of dollars before you earn a penny.


In contrast, let's say you're selling a cohort course. If you select a reputable system (like Mighty! ) it will cost you a minimum monthly cost that would cover literally everything you need to run your business. It would provide you with a fantastic platform, the ability to customize it to your needs and also a point sale.


The price of delivering that cohort class is likely to be extremely low. And low overhead makes bootstrapping significantly easier.


6. Recurring revenue


Although it's not a requirement, but here's something to take into consideration. If you're in the process of bootstrapping your business, recurring revenue is a big increase.


Recurring revenue is basically when customers pay you each month. The subscription to Netflix subscription or gym membership produces recurring revenue for those businesses.


Imagine that you start an enterprise that provides consulting services. Generally speaking, you might perform a project on behalf of clients and then charge them for it. So far so good. Then, you'll need to find a new client.


The great thing about companies that generate recurring income is that you tend to retain your customers. As an example, when we see the creation of communities on Mighty most of them keep their members for years.


A few businesses get customers and then need new customers every month. Recurring revenue businesses, however, gain customers, keep them, then add more customers to their monthly pool. If you've got a high churn percentage this is a fantastic way to bootstrap.


7. Multiple offers for each Ideal Member


One of the most interesting paradoxes of business is that often your most loyal customers are ones who have already bought from you. If they've bought somethingfrom you and they are happy with the purchase then they're much more likely to return to you for another purchase.


Many business owners forget this. They say "Oh I've sold to that person. "


and they are missing one of their greatest revenue sources: existing customers.


Figure out ways to offer your customers who are already there greater value. We like to call this"the value ladder. Chances are, some of your customers will want more from you.


sales funnels - value ladder


As an example, say you are offering the community membership on career mastery. There are 100 members who are happy of your community. It's much easier to give the members something different than look for 100 members.


What about a career mastermind or an individualized program? Do you want one-on one coaching to a few select people?


Making offers available to your existing customers is just intelligent.


8. Invest in scaling


The last but certainly not least is the secret to bootstrapping a company is to invest the money to invest in scaling. You could invest it back in advertising or further developing the quality of your products. Perhaps you're hiring someone to make your life easier.


Bootstrapping isn't just about getting some cash coming in every month. It's about growing a business to profitability and high value and without the need to take investor money.


As you grow in popularity, consider the ways you can increase your impact and revenue.


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Bootstrapping Checklist


 

  • Focus on an ideal client        
  • Get revenue ASAP        
  • Make a minimum viable product (or provide)        
  • Create one great funnel        
  • Keep your overhead low        
  • Aim for recurring revenue (if it is appropriate)        
  • Create multiple offers for your customers        
  • Make an investment in the possibility of scaling        


Are you ready to begin?





If you're looking to begin the process of launching your company, to build it with Mighty! is a cultural software platform which brings together communities, courses, content, as well as commerce. Flexible Spaces let users mix discussions, live events, live streaming, profile profiles for members Chat and messaging and more.


The app allows you to sell products in 135 different currencies or you can even earn money with token-gating. There's a wonderful app that works on every device or we'll collaborate with you on an application that's white-label with Mighty Pro.


A lot of our Mighty hosts have built six and seven-figure businesses, working from their homes to earn amazing annual profits. The businesses that are founded upon Mighty make sure to check all the boxes above.


If you want to get motivated, browse our case studies and read what some amazing business owners have built their businesses on Mighty. If you're looking to start, you can test it for free for 14 days, without credit card needed.